Comfortably Numb?

After being diagnosed with PTSD and being assigned to a psychiatrist, lots of things have come to mind but most of all – treatment.
Treatment means facing those things I avoid – going to the place I was abused, etc.
Things that make me feel sick just thinking about.

I can’t help but thinking – since 90% of my day to day life is pretty good, I mean, okay so I can’t currently work – but going through this treatment is going to be rough, really rough.
It means I have to feel all most horrible nasty things that I keep a bay for my own sanity.

So although I most certainly am going to start with this psychiatrist, I’m wondering intensely if it’s better to just remain “comfortably numb” about it.
Of course I have no freaking idea how I’ll live my life if I can’t work – but comfortably numb is feeling a lot safer right now that uprooting all those horrific feelings.

Maybe they’ll just label me crazy and be done with it.

– Vin

One comment

Leave a comment